skip navigation

Warroad's Jayson Shaugabay named Mr. Hockey

By Legacy Hockey staff, 03/12/23, 1:00PM CDT


Warriors sweep state's top awards with goalie Hampton Slukynsky winning the Frank Brimsek

Warroad's Jayson Shaugabay, who helped lead the Warriors to a runner-up finish at the state Class 1A tournament, was named Mr. Hockey on Sunday. Photo by Jeff Lawler,

Warroad’s Jayson Shaugabay was named the winner of the Mr. Hockey Award on Sunday at the Saint Paul RiverCentre.

Sunday marked the second time players from the same team won both awards. Grand Rapids' Avery Peterson won Mr. Hockey and Hunter Shepard the Frank Brimsek in 2014. 

The Mr. Hockey Award started in 1985 and Frank Brimsek Award in 1995.

Shaugabay, who led Warroad to a second-straight runner-up finish in state Class 1A tournament, finished third in the state with 96 points, including a state-leading 63 assists. His eight points in the state tournament were tied for the most in Class 1A and overall in both classes.

A four-year varsity regular who has committed to play at Minnesota-Duluth, Shaugabay finished his high school career sixth on the state’s all-time career scoring list with 304 points.

The other nine finalists for the award that goes annually to the state’s top senior skater were Finn Brink of Maple Grove, Chase Cheslock of Rogers, Cooper Conway of Andover, Tommy Cronin of St. Thomas Academy, Jake Fisher of Cretin-Derham Hall, Tyler Hennen of Kittson Central, Ryan Koering of Eden Prairie, Sam Ranallo of Rogers and Gavyn Thoreson of Andover.

Also on Sunday, Warroad's Hampton Slukynsky was named the winner of the Frank Brimsek Award that goes to the state’s top senior goaltender. He backstopped the Warriors to a 29-1-1 record and runner-up finish in the state Class 1A championship game.

Slukynsky, nicknamed Hammer, had nine shutouts this season, giving him 20 in his career. His .941 save percentage ranked second in the state and his 1.47 goals-against average was seventh best statewide.

Robbie Clarkowski of Edina and Will Ingemann of Wayzata were the other finalists for the award.

Earlier in the week Cheslock was named the winner of the Reed Larson Award that goes to the state’s top senior defenseman.

Past Winners

Mr. Hockey Award

2022 — Max Strand, Roseau
2021 — Jack Peart, Grand Rapids
2020 — Blake Biondi, Hermantown
2019 — Bryce Brodzinski, Blaine
2018 — Sammy Walker, Edina
2017 — Casey Mittelstadt, Eden Prairie
2016 — Riley Tufte, Blaine
2015 — Jake Jaremko, Elk River
2014 — Avery Peterson, Grand Rapids
2013 — Grant Besse, Benilde-St. Margaret's
2012 — Justin Kloos, Lakeville South
2011 — Kyle Rau, Eden Prairie
2010 — Nick Bjugstad, Blaine
2009 — Nick Leddy, Eden Prairie
2008 — Aaron Ness, Roseau
2007 — Ryan McDonagh, Cretin Derham-Hall
2006 — David Fischer, Apple Valley
2005 — Brian Lee, Moorhead
2004 — Tom Gorowsky, Centennial
2003 — Nate Dey, North St. Paul
2002 — Gino Guyer, Greenway
2001 — Marty Sertich, Roseville
2000 — Paul Martin, Elk River
1999 — Jeff Taffe, Hastings
1998 — Johnny Pohl, Red Wing
1997 — Aaron Miskovich, Grand Rapids
1996 — Dave Spehar, Duluth East
1995 — Erik Rasmussen, St. Louis Park
1994 — Mike Crowley, Bloomington Jefferson
1993 — Nick Checco, Bloomington Jefferson
1992 — Brian Bonin, White Bear Lake
1991 — Darby Hendrickson, Richfield
1990 — Joe Dziedzic, Minneapolis Edison
1989 — Trent Klatt, Osseo
1988 — Larry Olimb, Warroad
1987 — Kris Miller, Greenway
1986 — George Pelawa, Bemidji
1985 — Tom Chorske, Minneapolis Southwest

Frank Brimsek Award

2022 — Ben Dardis, Mahtomedi
2021 — Jack Wieneke, Maple Grove
2020 — Hudson Hodges, Moorhead
2019 — Charlie Glockner, Minnetonka
2018 — Atticus Kelly, St. Thomas Academy
2017 — Jake Begley, Hill-Murray
2016 — Nick Althaus, St. Cloud Apollo
2015 — Dyllan Lubbesmeyer, Burnsville
2014 — Hunter Shepard, Grand Rapids
2013 — David Zevnik,St. Thomas Academy
2012 — Michael Bitzer,Moorhead
2011 — Alex Lyon, Lake of the Woods
2010 — Zane Gothberg, Thief River Falls
2009 — Casey O'Connor, Bloomington Jefferson
2008 — Joe Phillippi, Hill-Murray
2007 — Reid Ellingson, Cloquet
2006 — Austin Lee, Bloomington Jefferson
2005 — Alec Richards, Breck
2004 — Matt Lundin, Apple Valley
2003 — Jon Anderson, White Bear Lake
2002 — Josh Johnson, Cloquet
2001 — Eric Aarnio, White Bear Lake
2000 — Jake Brandt, Roseau
1999 — Adam Laaksonen, Cloquet
1998 — Adam Coole, Duluth East
1997 — Kyle Kolquist, Duluth East
1996 — Karl Goehring, Apple Valley
1995 — Todd Kelzenberg, Blaine

Latest News

Tourney Time Teasers

  • O What a Relief

  • By David La Vaque 06/09/2020, 5:45pm CDT
  • Hill-Murray's Seamus Regan delighted father, brother by accomplishing what they couldn't
  • Read More
  • Danger Zone

  • By Loren Nelson 03/04/2020, 2:30pm CST
  • Goalies were once allowed to skate to opposite end — and did so at their own peril
  • Read More
  • The Heartbreak Kid

  • By David La Vaque 01/24/2020, 10:30am CST
  • Rob McClanahan and undefeated Mounds View dealt bitter state quarterfinal loss in 1976 by Steve Christoff and Richfield
  • Read More

The Full Nelson

  • Fountain of Youth

  • By Loren Nelson 12/08/2022, 1:45pm CST
  • Rejuvenated Mike Randolph, in his 34th season as a head coach, is loving life at St. Thomas Academy
  • Read More
  • Watch List

  • By Loren Nelson 11/07/2022, 8:00pm CST
  • Here are the five games you won't want to miss this season
  • Read More
  • Now You See It ...

  • By Loren Nelson 01/04/2022, 12:30pm CST
  • Houdini-like move by Andover's Cayden Casey joins list of greatest goals-gone-viral scored in recent history
  • Read More
  • The Real Hockeytown

  • By Loren Nelson 11/22/2021, 10:30pm CST
  • Season Primer: When Warroad plays, it's always a primetime event, especially in the Warriors' home town
  • Read More
  • Drama Kings

  • By Loren Nelson 11/18/2021, 12:45pm CST
  • Season Primer: The high school futures of Prior Lake stars Will Schumacher and Alex Bump were in doubt much of this fall
  • Read More