skip navigation

Mr. Hockey and Brimsek Award finalists named

By Legacy Hockey staff, 02/24/23, 1:15PM CST


Warroad's Jayson Shaugabay, Andover's Gavyn Thoreson among the 10 Mr. Hockey finalists

State scoring leader Tyler Hennen of Kittson Central, Jayson Shaugabay, star of undefeated Warroad, and Gavyn Thoreson, centerpiece of defending state Class 2A champion Andover's top line, all are among the 10 finalists for the Mr. Hockey Award as announced on Friday.

Two of the 10 finalists, defenseman Chase Cheslock and forward Sam Ranallo, are from Rogers. Andover also has two finalists in Thoreson and linemate Cooper Conway.

The award is presented annually to the state's top senior skater.

Robbie Clarkowski of Edina, Will Ingemann of Wayzata and Hampton Slukynsky of Warroad were named the three finalists for the Frank Brimsek Award that goes to the state's top senior goaltender.

The winners will be announced at the annual Mr. Hockey /Frank Brimsek Award Banquet set for noon on March 12 at the St. Paul RiverCentre.

Mr. Hockey Finalists

Name School Position College Commit
Finn Brink Maple Grove Forward Wisconsin
Chase Cheslock Rogers Defense University of St. Thomas
Cooper Conway Andover Forward Colorado College
Tommy Cronin St. Thomas Academy Forward Colgate
Jake Fisher Cretin-Derham Hall Forward Northern Michigan
Tyler Hennen Kittson Central Forward Augustana
Ryan Koering Eden Prairie Defense Colorado College
Sam Ranallo Rogers Forward Undecided
Jayson Shaugabay Warroad Forward Minnesota Duluth
Gavyn Thoreson Andover Forward St. Cloud State

The Mr. Hockey Award goes to the state's top senior skater.

Frank Brimsek Award Finalsts

Name School College Committed
Robbie Clarkowski Edina Undecided
Will Ingemann Wayzata University of St. Thomas
Hampton Slukynsky Warroad Northern Michigan

The Frank Brimsek Award goes to the state's top senior goaltender.

More than 400 interviews

Hundreds of vintage photos

Chapter for every year

Top 10 Charts

Dozens of vignettes

Statistical Leaders

Tourney Time Teasers

  • O What a Relief

  • By David La Vaque 06/09/2020, 5:45pm CDT
  • Hill-Murray's Seamus Regan delighted father, brother by accomplishing what they couldn't
  • Read More
  • Danger Zone

  • By Loren Nelson 03/04/2020, 2:30pm CST
  • Goalies were once allowed to skate to opposite end — and did so at their own peril
  • Read More
  • The Heartbreak Kid

  • By David La Vaque 01/24/2020, 10:30am CST
  • Rob McClanahan and undefeated Mounds View dealt bitter state quarterfinal loss in 1976 by Steve Christoff and Richfield
  • Read More

The Full Nelson

  • Fountain of Youth

  • By Loren Nelson 12/08/2022, 1:45pm CST
  • Rejuvenated Mike Randolph, in his 34th season as a head coach, is loving life at St. Thomas Academy
  • Read More
  • Watch List

  • By Loren Nelson 11/07/2022, 8:00pm CST
  • Here are the five games you won't want to miss this season
  • Read More
  • Now You See It ...

  • By Loren Nelson 01/04/2022, 12:30pm CST
  • Houdini-like move by Andover's Cayden Casey joins list of greatest goals-gone-viral scored in recent history
  • Read More
  • The Real Hockeytown

  • By Loren Nelson 11/22/2021, 10:30pm CST
  • Season Primer: When Warroad plays, it's always a primetime event, especially in the Warriors' home town
  • Read More
  • Drama Kings

  • By Loren Nelson 11/18/2021, 12:45pm CST
  • Season Primer: The high school futures of Prior Lake stars Will Schumacher and Alex Bump were in doubt much of this fall
  • Read More