skip navigation

Third-period outburts lifts Lakeville South

By Staff, 03/31/21, 3:25PM CDT


Willis, Ludtke lead Cougars to 4-2 win

Lakeville South erupted for four third-period goals as the No. 3 seed Cougars rallied for a 4-2 win over Moorhead Wednesday afternoon in the Class 2A quarterfinals at the Xcel Energy Center.

Aidan Willis and Tanner Ludtke each scored two goals to rally Lakeville South, which is now 19-0-2.

Moorhead, 13-8-1, opened the scoring when Harper Bentz scored on the power play at 9:47. The Spuds held that lead until Willis found the back of the net just over five minutes into the third period. Ludtke followed with a goal at 7:44 to give the Cougars a 2-1 lead.

Willis lit the lamp for a second time with a goal at 8:20 and Ludtke recorded an empty-net goal with 59 seconds left for Lakeville South. Moorhead’s Jonas Spicer scored with 27 seconds left for the final score. Cam Boche had two assists for the Cougars.

Key Moment
Willis’ first goal. Lakeville South caught fire, scoring two more goals in the next three minutes and 11 seconds.

Three Stars

  1. Willis. Sophomore forward doubled his goal total with his performance.
  2. Ludtke. The Cougars’ second-leading scorer stepped up at the right time.
  3. Cody Ticen. Lakeville South goaltender stopped 33 shots to keep the Cougars within striking distance.

Up Next
Lakeville South plays Wayzata in the 6 p.m. Friday semifinal.

More than 400 interviews

Hundreds of vintage photos

Chapter for every year

Top 10 Charts

Dozens of vignettes

Statistical Leaders

Tourney Time Teasers

  • O What a Relief

  • By David La Vaque 06/09/2020, 5:45pm CDT
  • Hill-Murray's Seamus Regan delighted father, brother by accomplishing what they couldn't
  • Read More
  • Danger Zone

  • By Loren Nelson 03/04/2020, 2:30pm CST
  • Goalies were once allowed to skate to opposite end — and did so at their own peril
  • Read More
  • The Heartbreak Kid

  • By David La Vaque 01/24/2020, 10:30am CST
  • Rob McClanahan and undefeated Mounds View dealt bitter state quarterfinal loss in 1976 by Steve Christoff and Richfield
  • Read More